Book 25: Death Comes to Pemberley

Death Come to Pemberley by PD James
Death Come to Pemberley by PD James

 

Death Comes to Pemberley by PD James is the closest I could get to an Austen novel for my trip to Bath. I have read all her books decades ago. I wasn’t certain about a sequel, but I thought I’d give it ago, in the interests of this experiment. I was going to see a friend for her own 40th celebrations.

Review: I am not always a supporter of people taking on the characters of others and making a bloody mess of it. PD James literally does this in terms of setting a crime thriller in the midst of a period drama. I haven’t read her other work to know how much it differs, or not. I am not so opposed as I used to be to derivative works, and can appreciate well done fan fiction. This works well for me as it’s far enough away in time and place from the original to not overshadow it.

Started: 21/7/2017
Finished: 22/7/2017
Location(s):  train, Bath
Target: 25/15

Leave a Reply

